Tyra has been dreaming of ‘the one’ since she was a little girl, and she won’t settle for anyone less than perfect. At thirty-five, she walks into a party at her new place of work, and sees him: Kane “Tack” Allen, a motorcycle man, and also her new boss. Several tequilas later, she’s in his bed, and it’s wild. Unceremoniously, the next morning, she’s kicked out of it again. And she must face his fury when she walks back into Ride Custom Cars and Bikes as the office manager. Tack does not work with any woman he’s slept with. But Tyra needs the job. More than that, she’s pissed at him for kicking her out of his bed, and for thinking he can order her around. So she’s staying. Whether he likes it or not.

I’ve seen Tack referred to as an “alphahole”, and lets be honest: he is. But he makes it work. I absolutely adored, in a spoiling-my-dinner-with-cake way, the first half of this book. It was trashtastic, and I haven’t allowed myself to read anything trashtastic in a long time. The freedom: heady.

When I was a teenager I fell hard, hard, hard for Gabriel from Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klaus. Biker werewolf, mmm-mm. Pack mentality, bulging muscles, danger. Tack reminded me so much of him. The damaged soul, everything. But without the pelt.

The setting was fantastic. I have never read a book set in a mechanics or a motorcycle club, so the world was great to be in. Tyra was also great to travel along with. I like her taste in clothes, her habit of running off to lick her wounds instead of facing her issues head on (I so, so do that) and her short, defensive fuse.

The first half of the book I can’t really fault. The second half, it started to pall a bit. Romantic tension in itself isn’t enough to pull me through a story. It’s a personal taste thing. I disliked how the kidnapping wrapped up so quickly, and then the middle section was Tyra and Tack breaking up, getting back together, breaking up … D&Ms are all well and good but external conflict needs to be maintained to maintain my interest. There were a few hints that the Russian mob were up to No Good and would be back to raise hell, but I could have done with a concrete threat to keep the tension up.

Enjoyable book, for sure. I can see why everyone’s raving about it. Loved the first half. Could leave the second. But it’s short enough so it’s worth sticking with it to see what happens. I don’t think I’ll become an Ashley fan, but I might pick up one or two of the other Mystery Man books down the track. Hawk. Hmm. He’s captured my interest … I read this as a standalone and don’t see why anyone else couldn’t do the same thing.

